Fall Conference Program Notes

Conference Program Notes

WNY/O ACRL Conference

Assessment in Action

October 30th, 2015

RIT Conference Center

 Conference in Brief

 8:30 a.m. – 9 a.m.         Registration and Breakfast

 9 a.m. – 9:15 a.m.         Welcome and opening remarks.

 9:15 a.m. – 10 am         The Student Success Project: Measuring Library Impact.

                                             Bonnie J. M. Swoger & Corey Ha, SUNY Geneseo Milne Library.

 10 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.     Break – Viewing poster sessions.

 10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Actionable Assessment from A to Z

                                          Gabriela Castro Gessner, Zsuzsa Koltay

 11:30 a.m. – 12 p.m. Group discussion/questions.

 12 p.m. – 1 p.m. Lunch


Actionable Assessment from A to Z by Gabriela Castro Gessner

Assessment is not only about selecting strategies and applying techniques that are effective, practical and sustainable; it is and should be actionable.  From advocacy and discovery of user-needs to operational processes and service improvement, actionable assessment informs future directions.  In this presentation I will illustrate how assessment impacts service improvement and promotion of value, as well as help to track progress, develop programming and create opportunities.

Bio

Gabriela Castro Gessner is a Research and Assessment Analyst at Cornell University Library.  In support of library planning, Gaby collaborates and consults to design research studies evaluating library services and their impact on users.  Gaby holds a PhD in anthropological archaeology from SUNY Binghamton and has published and presented on ethnographic and usability studies in libraries and on archaeological projects in the Near East.  She previously worked as a Reference Specialist in the Humanities & Social Science Library at Cornell and has taught research methods and college-level anthropology.  Her research interests are in user studies, usability and assessment of learning outcomes, as well as anthropological perspectives on knowledge and technology.

Posters

 

Name Email Title of Presentation
Nancy Abashian abashian@binghamton.edu Inventory as Opportunity:  Research for Credit in the Binghamton University Libraries
Kate Pitcher pitcher@geneseo.edu Measuring Information Service Outcomes using MISO: A tale of two libraries
Kenneth Wierzbowski kwierzbo@brockport.edu Measuring Information Service Outcomes using MISO: A tale of two libraries
Mary Jo Orzech morzech@brockport.edu Measuring Information Service Outcomes using MISO: A tale of two libraries
Derek Sanderson derek.sanderson@msmc.edu An Assessment of Expectations for Student Employees Among Academic Library Staff
Jen Park jen.park@msmc.edu An Assessment of Expectations for Student Employees Among Academic Library Staff
Julann Schwarz-Cobb julann.cobb@msmc.edu An Assessment of Expectations for Student Employees Among Academic Library Staff
Tiffany Davis tiffany.davis@msmc.edu An Assessment of Expectations for Student Employees Among Academic Library Staff
Bridget Doloresco bdoloresco@niagara.edu Strategies for Utilizing Free Online Tools in First-Year Academic Library Instruction
Glen Benedict glenbene@buffalo.edu Strategies for Utilizing Free Online Tools in First-Year Academic Library Instruction
Sarah Akers sarahake@buffalo.edu Strategies for Utilizing Free Online Tools in First-Year Academic Library Instruction
Bill Jones jonesw@geneseo.edu Strengthening Regional Collections One Request at a Time: Using Resource Sharing Technology to Facilitate True Just-In-Time Predictive Coordinated Collection Development
Kate Ross kross@sjfc.edu Strengthening Regional Collections One Request at a Time: Using Resource Sharing Technology to Facilitate True Just-In-Time Predictive Coordinated Collection Development
Kourtney Blackburn kblackburn@sjfc.edu Strengthening Regional Collections One Request at a Time: Using Resource Sharing Technology to Facilitate True Just-In-Time Predictive Coordinated Collection Development
Adwoa Boateng aabwml@rit.edu Students Say the Darndest Things
Roberto Vargas rvargas1@swarthmore.edu Swarthmore Projects for Educational Exploration and Development (SPEED)